NEW THINGS!

 

Hello friends!

This week has been my gap week in between leaving my old job and starting the new one on Monday. It’s been nice to have a breather, though I have technically still been working.

I’ve kind of been feeling down for a little while now about my writing (and lack thereof). My tricky relationship with my own mental health has meant creative output has been severely reduced while I focused on bringing myself back up to normal life speed. I’m not quite back to 100%, but things are certainly looking up.

Last week I signed a contract with Dreamspinner Press for a short story called Rainbow Sprinkles. Some of you might recall the open call for submissions for the ‘States of Love’ collection – there will be 52 stories, each set in one of the United States – and I’ve got California.

The story is actually an idea I’ve been sitting on for some time. Those of you who know me will be aware of my obsession with Disneyland, Disney World, Disneyland Paris… and I haven’t made it to any of the Asian Disneylands yet, but be assured it’s on my to-do list. Rainbow Sprinkles is the story of a young actor who plays a Prince at Disneyland in California, and his budding romance with a handsome guy in a local ice cream parlor who tops all of his sundaes with rainbow colored sprinkles. It’s a ridiculously cute and fluffy romance!

I’m hoping it’ll be out before the end of the year, schedule permitting.

I also just finished a book that I’ve been working on for well over three years. It’s called The Impossible Boy and I swear, this book has kicked my arse like nothing else. I thought I’d wrestled with Signs! (I really did wrestle with Signs. This was worse.)

It’s the story of a young guy who works within the fashion industry as a fashion journalist. His name’s Stan, and he’s genderfluid/gender non-conforming—he presents and ‘passes’ as female a lot of the time. The novel is about Stan’s move to London, where he meets and falls in love with Ben, who plays guitar in a band.

To say this story has been a labour of love is an understatement for sure. It’s probably the most angsty thing I’ve ever written, to the point where I abandoned it for months at a time because it just hurt too much to go back and keep hurting my boys! I’ve never been good at writing the hard stuff. What can I say, I love love too much.

The book doesn’t have a home yet but I’ve got a few ideas, so I’m hoping very much it will be out in the world next year.

The last thing to mention will be my current work-in-progress, which I am having so much fun with. I’m not quite ready to give away all the details, but I will say that anyone who knows me will be very unsurprised when they see what I’ve come up with! That sounds super cryptic now…

Thanks for stopping by. I’m going to send another Throwback Thursday your way this week, so don’t forget to subscribe if you don’t want to miss it!

Anna

4 thoughts on “NEW THINGS!

  1. Best wishes my dear, sometimes life throws us curveballs, big and small. We are here for you, support you and wait patiently for your next releases no matter the time. Make sure you are priority #1. Good luck in your new job!! Hugs!

    The new book that is mysterious as of now have foodies in it?? Just curious 😂😂😂

  2. I loved “Signs” so much I’ve already read it three times (and I rarely reread books). So if the wrestling to write a novel could be a sign of how good it will be, I just can’t wait to read “The Impossible Boy” ^_^ (if it can’t be of some consolation for the difficulties encountered…). I’m so happy to have some new stories of yours to look forward to!

    • Aw, thanks Zooey! I don’t think there’s necessarily a correlation between how much I struggle writing a book and its success – I wrote Summer Son in less than 5 weeks and I think that’s my best selling book to date!
      Saying that, I’m really proud of Impossible Boy. I really pushed myself with it. You’ll hopefully see it next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

